Note: Join me today on my IG Apéro Hour at 6pm CET, Noon ET, and 9am PT while I mix up this Swampwater cocktail. To watch, go to my Instagram profile at that time and click on my profile picture when there is a red circle around it, which means I am live. You can also watch it in replay on my IGTV channel. More information about how to tune in and watch live, as well as in replay, here.

Some of the most fun I had writing Drinking French was looking at vintage ads for French spirits and apéritifs. I went down a lot of rabbit holes as one led me to another, then another, and then another. On particularly creative ad was for Suze, which showed a gentian root (the primary ingredient in the apéritif) playing the bottle opener like a guitar. Whatever mind came up with that one was brilliant.

When I had Tim Master on my IG Live, talking about Chartreuse, one drink he mentioned making was the Swampwater. I was a little young when some of the following ads came out, but I vaguely remember the name, Swampwater.

Continue Reading Swampwater

(Open with browser)
Source: https://www.davidlebovitz.com/swamp-water-chartreuse-pineapple-juice-recipe/